Latest News

TRAIL OF MURDER Releases Debut Album

TRAIL OF MURDER, the Bollnäs, Sweden-based band featuring former members of TAD MOROSE and MORGANA LEFAY, released its debut album, “Shades Of Art”, on October 26 via Metal Heaven.

After singer Urban Breed parted ways with TAD MOROSE in 2005, he and former bandmate Daniel Olsson decided to start a new band. When MORGANA LEFAY drummer Pelle Åkerlind, who had already worked with Breed in BLOODBOUND, was added to the lineup, the three-piece really started to gel and tremendous new songs began to take shape.

Since they had a singer, a guitarist and a drummer, and all could play bass, the fledgling band didn’t involve any more members at first, and “Shades Of Art” started to take shape. The songs pretty much wrote themselves, and in the fall of 2011, the guys were ready to enter the Black Lounge studio with Jonas Kjellgren (SONIC SYNDICATE, SCAR SYMMETRY) at the helm and mix the CD.

Only once the record was finished did TRAIL OF MURDER actually start to look for another guitarist and a bass player. Hasse Eismar (guitar), with whom Pelle had previously played, came first and rehearsals commenced, but when Hasse himself posted a teaser clip on his Facebook page, Johan Bergquist, a guy Hasse had done some gigs with before at home, came back and posted the now-immortal phrase, “Get rid of the bass player — I want in!” Needless to say, everyone decided to give him a try, and halfway through the first song, it was obvious to all they’d found their guy.

“Shades Of Art” track listing:

01. Shades Of Art
02. Carnivore
03. Lady Don’t Answer
04. Mab
05. I Know Shadows
06. Your Silence
07. Higher
08. The Song You Never Sang
09. Nightmares I Stole
10. Child Of Darkest Night
11. Some Stand Alone
12. My Heart Still Cries


Urban Breed – Vocals
Daniel Olsson – Guitar
Pelle Akerlind – Drums
Hasse Eismar – Guitar
Johan Bergquist – Bass

For more information, including audio samples, visit

Thanks Blabbermouth


Blast Head Records has announced the signing of Birmingham, Alabama’s NEBULOUS, The technical death metallers’ debut album, “The Quantum Transcendence Of Death”, will be released in early 2013.

“From the moment I heard NEBULOUS, I was absolutely floored,” comments Paul Shaw, owner of Blast Head Records. “The songs have this amazing energy, which I think people will really gravitate to. They are a band that has a solid vision of what they are after, and this type of work ethic always pays off! I am very ecstatic to be working with them and looking forward to the release of’ ‘The Quantum Transcendence Of Death’!”

NEBULOUS recorded half of the album during the summer of 2011, but in October they suffered a major loss with the death of their drummer Justin Beasley. The band has forged ahead in Justin’s memory and has just recently finalized the remaining tracks. The album was recorded, mixed and mastered by Joseph McQueen (AS I LAY DYING) of Echelon Studios.

“The Quantum Transcendence Of Death” artwork captures the vision of the band and was completed by George Prasinis, who has done album covers for such notable bands as KATAPLEXIA, MASS INFECTION and SPAWN OF POSSESSION.

“The Quantum Transcendence Of Death” track listing:

Part One: The Machination

I: Of Means And Ends
II: Catalyze III: SN 5270
IV: Aggregating Powers
V: The Quantum Transcendence Of Death

Part Two: Into Infinite Spectrums

VI. Devourer Of The Cosmos
VII. Forever Impaled
VIII. Hivemind
IX. Spectrums

Thanks Blabbermouth

CULT OF LUNA: ‘Vertikal’ Release Dates Announced

“Vertikal”, the new studio album from Swedish “art rockers” CULT OF LUNA, will be released in Europe on January 25 via Indie Recordings and in the U.S. on January 29, 2013 through Density Records.

According to a press release, “Vertikal” marks a much-anticipated return for the band after five years spent cultivating the ideas and directing the influences that have helped form a concept for the album. Distilled throughout are themes of machinery, repetition and clear, linear structures honed to the visual imagery of Fritz Lang‘s classic expressionist science fiction film “Metropolis”. The music broods, builds and boils as you may expect from CULT OF LUNA, but never overcomplicates itself or veers from its intentions; it is arguably their finest and most cohesive piece of work to date.

Commented the band: “Before we started writing, we were keen to find a theme that in a very direct way could be shown through the music, and we hope to have achieved this. We developed clear structures — very linear, refusing to over complicate the writing process.

“We realize fans have been waiting for what seems like an age for us to return to the live arena properly, but we were not keen on playing shows before we had the new material ready. There have been changes, and we wanted to come back on our own terms with something completely new. It is very important for us to transpose the idea of a new album into the live setting, to not tread water, and to include the fans in what we’ve been working on; you will be hearing this very soon.”

CULT OF LUNA will return to the live arena for a full European tour, with a new set of dates just announced in April and May in addition to the previously announced period around the album’s release in January and February. There are U.S. dates being planned and the band intend to tour further in late 2013.

CULT OF LUNA released a hardback book/audiobook called “Eviga Riket” on February 23, 2010 via C.O.L Press. According to the band, the book is “a short story covering the life and times of Mr. Holger Nilsson, the full story behind the ‘Eternal Kingdom’ [CULT OF LUNA‘s latest album] theme. The book will be bilingual, written in Swedish and translated into English. The narrated versions of this short story is accompanied by newly written CULT OF LUNA pieces and soundscapes.”

CULT OF LUNA‘s DVD, “Fire Was Born”, was released in April 2009 via Earache Records). Along with an epic live show recorded on July 1, 2008 at Scala in London, England, the disc — which was mixed, edited and designed by the band — features footage of mainman Johannes Persson and Anders Teglund (keyboards) answering questions from fans all around the world and the videos for “The Watchtower”, “Leave Me Here” and “Back To Chapel Town”.

Thanks Blabbermouth